Understanding the Human Energy field through the Panch Vayus

Understanding the Human Energy field through the Panch Vayus

The discovery of Quantum Physics successfully showcased how everything in the world at a sub-atomic level is all energy. This also means that all living beings including humans are also Energy Beings. Our physical reality – the body we reside in, our mental tendencies etc. are all wrapped around their physical manifestations, which is a very intricate energy field. This regulates the millions of cellular actions taking place inside the human body. Anything in our environment that interferes with this subtle energy field, effects our physical, emotional, and mental framework. This Human Biofield was understood by the Chinese as qi and as the Prana by the Indians thousands of years ago.

In the Yogic context, the Human Biofield can be better explained through the Panch Vayus (5 Energies or Pranas). All the Vayus have subtle qualities, specific functions and directions of flow. Each vayu has a seat in the body where its function is felt most strongly. Each Vayu is associated to a specific Element amongst the PanchMahabhutas. Despite these distinctions, each is integrated into the total system of vital human energy, part of the Pranamaya Kosha. The Chakras are the manifestations of the energy of the Panch Vayus.

Understanding and working with these energy fields is important for our physical, mental and spiritual development and well-being. The below table sheds some light on each one of them.

A deeper classification of the Energies basis functional differences, leads us to know that there are 5 Upa Pranas along with the above 5 Pranas. These Upa Pranas assist the 5 Pranas.

  • Naga (Snake) – responsible for air circulation: belching, burping, hiccups, vomiting etc. all upwards wind movement from your stomach
  • Kurma (Turtle) – connected with eyesight and regulates blinking and size of the iris.
  • Krikara (Pepper) assists in clearing blockages from respiratory system, like sneezing and coughing. It also produces hunger and thirst.
  • Devadatta (God-Given) is responsible in releasing stale air from the stomach and increasing the level of oxygen in the body through yawning.
  • Dhananjaya (Victorious) is spread throughout the body and responsible for Twitching in any part of the body. It is the only vayu which lingers in the body after death, triggering decomposition of the body.

In the ancient days, Saints and Sages used to possess powers by controlling these energies within their physical bodies and also activate the Kundalini energy to reach the enlightened states or Samadhi. However in today’s times, instead of aiming at mastering these Vayus, if you even cultivate a basic awareness and focus of one or more of the Vayus, it will help you deepen your awareness of body and breath leading to a balanced, harmonious functioning of all the Vital energies. Through this conscious control and cultivation, you can create optimal health, vitality and well-being of the body as well as the mind.

Awareness of one or more Vayu is most easily illustrated within any yoga posture. Come to the Dallas Yoga fest to experience these magical energies running through us and cultivate a Yoga routine to tap into this life force within you.

  • Ajit Behera
    Posted at 04:24h, 07 May Reply

    It is so important to understand the human body and it’s important functions. The explanation about 5 energies in yogic context is so detail and useful, it clarifies many doubts in mind. The yogic science is a priceless gift of saints and ancient sages to this society. I believe Dallas Yoga festival is a wonderful opportunity to explore more and practice the real yogic postures explained in this article.

  • Dale Rafferty
    Posted at 09:42h, 09 May Reply

    Great opportunity to gain first-hand knowledge and experience of the energies of life at play within us. Hope to see you there!

  • Sanjay Kumar Bhati
    Posted at 09:15h, 27 June Reply

    Each VAYU is integrated into the total system of vital human energy,part of the PRANAMAYA KOSHA.

  • Bandita Pradhan
    Posted at 08:24h, 02 July Reply

    Along with the 5 PRANAS,there are 5 UPA-PRANAS.These UPA-PRANAS assist the PRANAS.

  • Sasmita Pradhan
    Posted at 20:53h, 07 July Reply

    All the VAYUS have subtle qualities,specific functions and directions of flow.

Post A Comment

Sign up for updates

Enter your email and stay on top of things